localized (language support) date names

I am using the tags to include the current date into my templates at the moment but this seems to be in english only. If I am wrong please tell me otherwise it would be great to have the possibility to specify the localization of the date.

Since I think you guys use .NET as the back-end system this should be rather simple.

DateTime.Now.ToString("d", new CultureInfo("nl-NL"))

Hope it will be implemented in the near future or to hear how it is already implemented and usable.

Jan-Willem, 7 years ago
Jan-Willem :

Since I think you guys use .NET as the back-end system this should be rather simple.

Sorry my use of "simple" might be a little exaggerated. I am a programmer my self in C# and know that in some cases it might be a little more complicated that I stated. :)

Jan-Willem, 7 years ago

Is there anybody that will respond to my request or is it a no go at all?

Stig Stig, 7 years ago

Hi Jan-Willem,
Thanks for your feedback, and sorry this one slipped by us.

I added you vote for localized dates.

Stig

The Campaign Monitor Blog – HTML email smarts to go with your good looks.
PaulK, 7 years ago

I second Jan-Willem's request. We're using this system to send Dutch newsletters as well, and the English date format doesn't look professional if you're using a different language.

Thanks,
Paul

nippr, 7 years ago

Vote me in for this too. And it would be great to see an option for localized versions of the text generated by the quick tags in the plain text version. I am willing to help with the danish and swedish translation.

anderscarlen, 7 years ago

Where can I add my vote for this too?

Of all the translation efforts this is the one I find most urgent...

/anders

anderscarlen, 7 years ago

And to offer a suggestion for a temporary workaround solution:
How about a simple way to add just numbers in the date tags: for instance: 2009-06-13 or similar.
While it is far from solving all the problems it might help some users.