Account Termination - A harsh lesson you don't want to repeat!

I though I should post this as a warning to others who may make the same mistake’s as me and have ALL your clients accounts suspended!

I am a web designer who manages a handful of clients (about a dozen or so). A few of them send out the occasional email to their customer databases and campaign monitor looked like a great way to simplify things and get better feedback on what was going on.

I setup two clients and over a few months sent out a few emails. One of my clients received a higher than normal spam score on their initial email which worried me a bit but I saw a mention about this occurring with newly setup lists and the second email spam score did drop, although still not within campaign monitor’s guidelines of 1 in 5000 emails.

Then I make my mistake. I added a client who had not sent any email to their customers in almost two years. As this was a large list (7500) which had not heard from the company in a long time (potentially) we decided to send out a simple short text email (no fancy graphics) inviting  them to send feedback on their product with a chance to win a prize for participating. Well, it turned to custard,  I saw the spam score the next morning at about (0.5%) and by the end of the week it was up to 1%. I can only assume the list age and the fact we forgot to remove customers who had returned their products was the cause of the problem.

I then get an email from campaign monitor saying that my account has been suspended including ALL other clients. I contacted support and pleaded my case but they have denied reinstating my account even with the problem company removed.

SO, Lesson learnt the hard way:

1. Don’t work under pressure and assume things will be ok
2. Don’t send to such a big list as an initial email – test first
3. Don’t add multiple clients to one account unless your OK with all of them loosing access if something goes bad.