Trouble styling a <$title$> when link='true'

I've got a repeater in an email newsletter template and it all looks and works fine - except for when I add a link to the title. When I do that - it makes the title style blue and underlined instead of black and no decoration.

Here's the code:

<font style="font-family:'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif;font-size:18px;line-height:20px;color:#000000;text-decoration:none"><$title link='true' default='COLLECTIVE THINKING'$></font>

I tried using a declared style and <span> tags and got the same result as the <font> tags above.

When there is no link on the title it looks fine. When there is a link it turns blue and underlined. I'm still a bit new to using CM proprietary tags. I know you can put style information in some of them (like unsubscribe, for example) I actually pasted the style information inside the <$title$> tag and that didn't work.

durmans, 7 years ago

I actually figured out my own problem by picking apart one of the free templates. All fixed.

fyredefyre fyredefyre, 7 years ago

For future reference, the blue link & underline is a default style for all links, and can be fixed by adding a global link color, or adding a custom link within the style itself.

For example:

Global: a { color: #000000; }
Custom: .headingtext a { color: #000000; }

Obviously there's also other link elements such as active, hover, visited etc so keep that in mind if you wish to utilise these too. - Everything Email.
Email: Skype: fyredefyre
standout, 7 years ago

I've pretty much the same problem except I've been writing in the code inline. I've got dreamweaver to create a bit of CSS for the relevant h1 and h2 - without the underline and a custom colour - but no joy on this either. Any ideas?

Mathew Mathew, 7 years ago

You'd just need to make sure you have a style for links inside a heading - a rule like:

h1 a:link {color:#000;}