POORLY WRITTEN -- 'How to setup a custom domain name'

I have been a webmaster since 1996. I have been through thousands of issues on many different web hosts over the years. I am used to creating subdomains, domain transfers, blah, blah.

So, when I read this blithe statement "It's really very easy!" at http://help.campaignmonitor.com/topic.aspx?t=116
I am appalled at how confusing your make this topic.

Stick with ONE EXAMPLE all the way through.

Then show some OTHER POSSIBILITIES in the same precise sequence.

But, this cannot possibly be correct as written:

"Type in the full domain name your clients will login at. This might be a subdomain on your company site, or it could be a totally separate domain, it's up to you."

I could go on with what else is poorly written and confusing about these instructions but I will leave that for later.

Mathew Mathew, 6 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. However, it is completely possible to use a default address for your custom domain, it definitely doesn't have to be a dedicated subdomain. We have plenty of customers using a specific full domain which maps to their Campaign Monitor account.

If you do have other suggestions though, please let us know.

Get in touch with us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/campaignmonitor
We're also on Facebook: http://facebook.com/campaignmonitor
Vienna, 6 years ago

My point is all of your FAQ's are written description of "what is possible".  And, yes, of COURSE it is possible to use a default web address so that the Client log-in page shows up, I presume, at that address.

But I have looked all over your site and you guys have completely forgotten what these actions LOOK LIKE in practice.  NO VIDEOS, not even illustrated text tutorials to DEMONSTRATE the EFFECT of an API in action on an existing website, and no visual demonstration to your new clients of what Mapping a CName to either a subdomain or a default address will produce when this is done.