suppression, deleted, bounced

Can someone please explain (or point me at a document) the logic behind bounces - after how many bounces does the user get added to the suppression list?

Is there a difference between 'deleted' and the suppression list? and can users only be added to 'deleted' by the admin deliberatly putting them there?

--
John

Diana Diana, 7 years ago

John,

Hard bounces are removed automatically and soft bounces need to bounce 3 times with no trackable activity between before they'll be removed.

Deleted is indeed a deliberate action. It's limited to the list itself, so if you delete an address from a list it won't suppress them from being added to future lists. Adding someone to the suppression list prevents them from being imported to future lists.

You can find information about the suppression list here and information about bounces here


~*~~*~~*~~*~
D. Potter
Campaign Monitor

See why 200,000 companies worldwide love Campaign Monitor.

From Australia to Zimbabwe, and everywhere in between, companies count on Campaign Monitor for email campaigns that boost the bottom line.

Get started for free