Segments and Multi Option Fields (select many)

I have a subscriber list with several fields as well as the standards. Gender, State, and Interests. Gender and State are both text fields, and Interests is a multi-option (select many) field. Interests can hold values of "Menswear", "Womenswear", "Kids" and "Baby". Since it's multi-option select many, people can select all of them, or any combination.

I have 3 emails to send, and I have to ensure that no subscriber receives more than 1 of them. To do that, we want to segment as follows;

1. Gender=Male  AND  Interests=Kids OR Interests=Baby
2. Gender=Male  AND  State=NSW  AND is not in Segment 1
3. Gender=Female  AND  State=NSW  AND  is not in Segment 1

To do that, I've created Segment 1 as above. Segment 2 is:

Gender=Male AND State=NSW AND Interests does NOT equal Kids AND Interests does NOT equal Baby

But this isn't working, as when I create it this segment still includes people that have selected Kids and/or Baby as an Interest in this multi-option (select many) field.

I'm guessing that this just won't work on a multi-option select many field as it's trying to do exact matching. So that will exclude people that have selected ONLY Kids or ONLY Baby, but if they've selected anything else as well, the logic just doesn't work.

Is there a way to do this or will I have to do all the exclusions manually? Or is my logic flawed?

h2o, 4 years ago

I know this is an old thread but we need the same ability - the Boolean operators don't work properly with the multi-option custom field as far as I can tell. Am I doing something wrong?

All I want is: X in not selected  AND  Y is selected.

Is that possible? At the moment I'm having to export everything to Excel, do the checks there, update another custom field based on whether the condition is true, and upload that, which isn't an efficient/sustainable process!

roshodgekiss roshodgekiss, 4 years ago