What is the optimum for image loading

Hi,

I am new to email marketing.
I have received some feedback that the images are loading very slowly - more than 20 secs. In my own tests in different user environments, the test results can be from 1 - 7 secs.

I know file sizes are kept to 100Kb or below when possible, which has been done.

Is there an industry standard for image loading?
What factors affect image loading?

I am not sure what's the cause for the image loading but I could help to minimise complaints if I can quote an industry standard.

Thanks for your help.

Dave Dave, 8 years ago

Images in email are downloaded just like images in a web page (unless you actual embed the images in an email, in which case the email itself takes longer to download but the images appear immediately once downloaded). The only real bottleneck should be the recipients web connection.

Stig Stig, 8 years ago

Hi, and welcome :)

File size and load time is important to be aware of, both with email and web. A total size of 100kb is not a lot for a newsletter, but with a dial up line, everything takes time.. Especially if you're using many small files. You can always spend a little extra time choosing the right format and compression for each graphic.

A cool thing about HTML email , though, is that you don't necessarily need too many images to make a good design. You can get far by just making a good layout with CSS in a good color scheme, and using images to support the design (tiled backgrounds, pictures, button background image for your call-to-action..).

But a 100kb limit is a good starting point. The Email Design Gallery is always a good resource to see what others are doing.

Stig

The Campaign Monitor Blog – HTML email smarts to go with your good looks.
emaildummy, 8 years ago

Thanks for both replies.