What's you bounced email workflow? (how do you fix bounces?)

I'm new to campaign monitor, I've sent my first 3 campaigns but I'm getting a lot of bounces.
(Hard, Soft, General, MailBlock-Spam) The information about the types of bounces is very generic and I'm wondering what process I should be following each time I've sent a campaign and I have bounces to reduce them in the future.

adamlcasey, 5 years ago

Anyone, like to share with me their process for fixing bounces.
Other than trying to email the 14 people who's email rejected our mail out and asking them to white list our email address. I'm not sure what to do?

Stig Stig, 5 years ago

Hey Adam,

I know this question was really intended for other customers, and how they handle this for their own lists, but I just thought I'd chime in. In most cases when an address bounces, it's because no email be delivered to this address, either temporarily (e.g. full mailbox) or permanently (e.g. domain doesn't exist). Some bounces can also be caused by the specific email being blocked, and if the bounce message indicates that this is so, this should be reflected in the reports in your account.

So while most bounces are legitimate, and they are handled automatically, there may be some cases where you'll want to contact the recipient to see if they're blocking the email. If you're seeing unexpected bounces, you can also contact us with the specific addresses, to see if it's something we can get more details on.

The Campaign Monitor Blog – HTML email smarts to go with your good looks.
adamlcasey, 5 years ago

Ok here's my scenario, what steps would you take next:

Total bounces = 14 (each bounced address has happened on two separate campaigns)
7 General Bounces
5 Mail Blocked Spam Detected (3 of which are all emails on the same domain name)
1 Soft Bounce DNS failure
1 Hard Bounce

roshodgekiss roshodgekiss, 5 years ago