Fallback info

Hi

Maybe I'm being thick, but I'm new to CM and am having two (related?) problems.

First, maybe I should explain what I'm trying to do. By default I obviously have the "Name" and "Email" fields, but rather than "Name", I need to break this down into "First Name" and "Last Name" - using everything before the first space or everything after the last space doesn't work as we work with shareholders who might have two names in the record such as "Marge & Homer Simpson", so the first name needs to be "Marge and Homer" when emails are sent out. I presume that is a case of adding custom fields for "First Name" and "Last Name".

Question 1:
Can I remove the default "Name" field or change its name? I know I don't have to use it in emails, but I don't want it showing in the user's preferences either.

Question 2:
I can't see how to enter the fallback info when adding a "Personalization Tag". I've read this:
http://help.campaignmonitor.com/topic.aspx?t=33
and a few other pages on the topic. The above link says:

When personalizing a recipient's name, you can provide a fallback value which is displayed if that field is empty for that recipient. If you would like nothing displayed when a recipient's name field is empty, simply leave the fallback value blank (e.g. [firstname,fallback=]).

It doesn't seem to say where you enter the fallback value though - I assumed you enter the fallback value when you create the field but can't see how to do that?

roshodgekiss roshodgekiss, 4 years ago

Hi h2o, welcome to the forums and thanks for using our service! I'll do my best to help out here.

Question 1:
Can I remove the default "Name" field or change its name? I know I don't have to use it in emails, but I don't want it showing in the user's preferences either.

At present, you can't, I'm sorry to say. Both the Name and Email fields can't be edited, or hidden from the preference center.