Personalising an email with a custom date - formatting help?

Hi all,

I'm setting up a new welcome email for customers who've bought a product from us. I want to use the custom field 'date purchased' to confirm the details the customer has registered (we do a warranty/repair service)

I'm using the tag [dateofpurchase, fallback=(date not provided)] to display it, which displays dates in the following format:

2012-03-06 00:00

My question is can adjust the email and/or the custom field to have it remove the timestamp, as we're only gathering the day not the time that the product was purchased?

Apols if this is a really obvious thing, I'm a novice at this and entirely self/google-taught!!

Thanks for your help!

davidaf davidaf, 4 years ago

HI Cat!

We normalize the date format on a date-based custom field so we can run date-based segment and autoresponder rules on the dates (such as xx days before, after, etc) which is why the format isn't customizable. To print a date in the format you like, at this time you'd need to have a text-based field with the Date in the format you want it printed in your email.

That being said, we have had requests for the ability to format the date-based custom fields in the tag, something like [datefieldname, DateFormat=DD/MM/YYYY] and I've added a vote for you in our system.

The Campaign Monitor Blog – HTML email smarts to go with your good looks
catreenie, 4 years ago

OK thanks!
I'll add a second field for the date that's in text format and reimport my subscribers with a duplicate column, so I've got both options!

Thanks again.

venncreative, 4 years ago

really important - I would love that date reformatting option.

roshodgekiss roshodgekiss, 4 years ago

Hey there venncreative, I just responded to your earlier post. I'll make sure this thread gets updated too if it's something we add :)

Get in touch with us on Twitter:
We're also on Facebook:
asanger, 3 years ago