"UK marketers face double legal whammy on direct marketing activities"

This article has just been passed to me by a colleague. It claims that "marketers face a ‘double legal whammy’ as on the horizon is another set of restrictive rules and regulations that look like becoming law across all 28 Member States of the European Union. 

The author predicts "even more red tape with potentially damaging consequences for millions of businesses and organisations that depend on DM"

There is a tendency when reading such articles to over react and go into "we're doomed" mode. So, I've dissected some of it it to try and understand whether it really does affect email senders who are already acting legitimately.   

I'm no legal expert, so I'd be interested to hear what others think and whether my interpretations are valid.

This is my analysis of the key points only, not the full article.  My comments prefixed with " > ".

(A) Regarding the "recent changes implemented by the ICO (UK)" mentioned in the article.

(1) Marketers will now need to keep a detailed record of how and when customer consent was obtained; what was actually said at the time of data collection and these records must now be available for inspection by the authorities on an ‘on demand’ basis, irrespective of the retrieval costs to business;

> As responsible CM customers we do of course ensure that our own customers are ensuring subscribers have opted in. The question here is, is the email marketing agency or the customer (or both of them) responsible for maintaining these records of when and how consent was obtained? If it's the agency's responsibility that potentially means we have to inspect our customers' own CRM systems (if they have one) to ensure they're retaining such records and not binning them.

(2) Marketers won’t be able to use any form of incentive as a condition to encourage customers to sign-up to receive information about products and services;