I'm new to API stuff but could do with some advice...

So... we run all our business through an ecommerce and CRM system called Infusionsoft.

We want to automate the heck out or account creation in Campaign Monitor in the same way that we do in other systems (Membership platforms like Kajabi etc).

In infusionsoft we can create an action set that follows the purchase or opt-in from forms on our website.

Our plan is to have a "Create your own account" form on our website. They can fill out the form, it posts to an Infusionsoft campaign, then we run an HTTP post action (pictured below) that needs to post to Campaign Monitor and set up their account.

Having never done this with CM and not being able to find some instructions here, could anyone help in terms of the link to HTTP post to in CM, the field names and any other advice that might enable us to set up the monthly plans too.

Thanks in advance,

Ant

http://www.hodgesnet.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Screen-Shot-2014-10-01-at-1.58.15-PM.png

Phil Phil, 2 years ago

Hi Ant,

Thanks for asking this question. My response assumes that when you talk about automated account-creation you mean as Clients within your company's Campaign Monitor account rather than as 100% independent CM accounts.

Based on the screenshot you've presented and my little bit of research around the infusionsoft documentation, i'm not convinced this is going to be possible out-of-the-box without any custom coding. There's a couple of reasons for this:

1. The POST in that campaign builder that you've shown posts standard HTTP name/value pairs, whereas our API endpoint is expecting either JSON or XML data
2. Our API requires Authentication data to be included as one of the HTTP headers, and i can't see a way to add a custom header in that Infusionsoft workflow