API Limitations

Hello,

I am new to the Campaign Monitor API / forums and have been busy implementing an interface to communicate with your API. While doing this, I have come across a few "show stoppers" in terms of API limitations, and was hoping the Campaign Monitor team could provide some work around or ETA for this functionality.

API Limitations
+ Cannot create a new list.
+ Can only import new subscribers one at a time.
+ Can make custom fields for segment use but can't actually create a new segment or edit / manipulate existing segments.
+ Cannot send a demo / email preview of less than 6 subscribers - thus incurring the $5 fee to "test" the API.
+ Cannot create a new client.

From the API page:

"You can use your own in-house software to store customer or member details, and then outsource your email delivery to Campaign Monitor."

These limitations hinder the type of solution we can offer our customers and doesn't really let us achieve the use of the API you have outlined.

** edit **
Just thought it was worth pointing out that the segmented list functionality is a very good feature and something we had anticipated making use of.

Is there some functionality which I have overseen here? I am really looking forward to getting the show on the road.

Kind Regards,
Anthony.

snowman18, 8 years ago

Hi, Antony!

I think you are correct in most of your assertions but the guys at CM can respond. I have been working around the new list issue by using the same list and unsubscribing everyone and then re-adding. As you can see from my earlier post it seems that the system seems to not handle heavy load very well, and re-adding as a separate soap request is certainly slow.

Also unsubscribing one at a time is an issue.

the API is more limited than the UI, but these guys seem to suggest it will improve soon :-)

I think many of us on the list are waiting for this!

uogecko, 8 years ago